Article XVIII. Miscellaneous

Article XVIII, Section 15. State minimum wage rate

Constitution of the State of Colorado

Official text

Effective January 1, 2017, Colorado's minimum wage is increased to $9.30 per hour and is increased annually by $0.90 each January 1 until it reaches $12 per hour effective January 2020, and thereafter is adjusted annually for cost of living increases, as measured by the Consumer Price Index used for Colorado. This minimum wage shall be paid to employees who receive the state or federal minimum wage. No more than $3.02 per hour in tip income may be used to offset the minimum wage of employees who regularly receive tips.

Source: Initiated 2006: Entire section added, effective upon proclamation of the Governor, L. 2007, p. 2961, December 31, 2006. Initiated 2016: Entire section amended, Amendment 70, effective upon proclamation of the Governor, L. 2017, p. 2799, December 16, 2016.

Source: Colorado Revised Statutes 2024, Constitution (Colorado Office of Legislative Legal Services)

Bills that cite this section

No published bill analyses cite this section yet.

When Christian Vote USA editors publish a constitutional analysis that relies on this section, the bill will appear here.

Constitutional analysis on this site is educational and is not legal advice.